Multi-User VR Environment

Multi-User VR is the working title of another proprietary development of INOSOFT AG. This is a modern SaaS environment allowing any number of users to move simultaneously in an artificial environment created by us and to interact audiovisually.

The system has extensive options for setting up and managing so-called virtual reality scenes, in which any number of users can dial in as part of a multi-user VR session.

To participate in a session, a high-performance PC (Windows operating system) and the Multi-User VR application provided by us are required.

On the one hand, the application has an intelligent installation routine that prepares the operating system for the use of the multi-user VR environment. And on the other hand, it has a user area, via which the scenes intended for the respective user group are provided after successful login.

After the start, the system establishes a connection to the other - spatially separated - participants of the joint session via the Multi-User VR Server (SaaS).

During an ongoing multi-user VR session, the participants can move freely in the virtual scenery, talk to each other, listen to the explanations of an expert person, work together on a virtual object, and much more.

Technically, any number of people can participate in a multi-user VR session, but we recommend group sizes of up to 100 participants.

Currently, the following end devices are supported:

  • Windows PC without data glasses
  • Windows PC with VR data glasses HP Reverb G2 (or comparable devices)
  • Windows PC with VR data glasses Oculus (in preparation)
  • Windows PC with VR data glasses Vive Pro
  • Windows PC with VR data glasses Valve Index

The system is currently under development. (Last updated 07/21/2021)

Initial situation

[plugin:page-inject](_video1)

Virtual reality applications in the enterprise environment are usually designed for single-user operation, i.e. the wearer of virtual reality data glasses operates alone in the respective artificially generated environment.

[plugin:page-inject](_video2)

The operation of several data glasses at the same time, e.g. to conduct employee training using VR (as described in the adjacent video) for several users, is therefore not possible. Furthermore, the virtual reality data glasses of the different manufacturers are not compatible.

The solution at a glance

This is exactly where our Multi-User VR environment comes in: The individual participants are connected to each other via the central server. The system also ensures that data glasses from different manufacturers can communicate with each other.

[plugin:page-inject](_video3)

Once the application has been installed and the user has logged on to the system, the virtual scenery prepared for the planned session is automatically loaded: The user puts on the data glasses and can immediately "dive" into the scene and get in touch with the other participants.

[plugin:page-inject](_video4)

And: If no VR glasses are available, the user can participate directly in the session via the multi-user VR application: In this case, he can follow the scenery with all participants and interactions via the PC screen. Looking around and moving are performed via a button control.

The administration of the various application scenarios is carried out via a web interface. Here, all necessary data and configuration settings - such as access control and user data, time and duration of a session, required scenes, etc. - can be centrally recorded and adjusted.

Examples and Use Cases

Training & education

[plugin:page-inject](_video5)

An unlimited number of participants meet with a trainer, teacher, instructor in the virtual environment, e.g. a production plant. The participants are ideally equipped with data glasses or follow the instructions directly on the PC. The trainer guides the group through the scenery, explains the processes or explains certain activities. At the end of the session, the trainer releases the participants from the "guided" mode so that everyone can move freely to try out on his own what he has learned before.

Tour & Sightseeing

[plugin:page-inject](_video6)

Since any number of participants can dial into a VR session at different locations around the world, there are completely new possibilities to walk or visit an interesting place, museum, etc. together. Background information is presented live, e.g. by a tour guide, while he leads the group through the surroundings.

Creativity & Collaboration

[plugin:page-inject](_video7)

Last but not least, in an online project room, people can collaborate creatively to, for example, find a solution to a spatial, three-dimensional task using geometric objects, brainstorm, or walk together virtually through the planned expansion of a plant - the possibilities are endless.

Multi-User VR Umgebung

Multi-User VR ist der Arbeitstitel einer weiteren Eigenentwicklung der INOSOFT AG. Dabei handelt es sich um eine moderne SaaS-Umgebung, über die sich beliebig viele Nutzer gleichzeitig in einer von uns geschaffenen künstlichen Umgebung bewegen und audiovisuell interagieren können.

Das System verfügt über umfangreiche Möglichkeiten der Einrichtung und Verwaltung sogenannter Virtual Reality Szenen, in die sich im Rahmen einer Multi-User VR Sitzung beliebig viele Benutzer einwählen können.

Für die Teilnahme an einer Sitzung ist ein leistungsfähiger PC (Windows Betriebssystem) und die von uns bereitgestellte Multi-User VR Anwendung erforderlich.

Die Anwendung verfügt einerseits über eine intelligente Installationsroutine, die das Betriebssystem für die Nutzung der Multi-User VR Umgebung vorbereitet. Und andererseits über einen Benutzerbereich, über den nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung die für den jeweiligen Benutzerkreis vorgesehenen Szenen eingerichtet werden.

Nach dem Start baut das System über den Multi-User VR Server (SaaS) eine Verbindung zu den anderen - räumlich voneinander getrennten - Teilnehmern der gemeinsamen Sitzung auf.

Während einer laufenden Multi-User VR Sitzung können sich die Teilnehmer frei in der virtuellen Szenerie bewegen, mit anderen Benutzern sprechen, den Ausführungen einer fachkundigen Person zuhören, gemeinsam an einem virtuellen Objekt arbeiten u.v.m.

Technisch gesehen können beliebig viele Personen an einer Multi-User VR Sitzung teilnehmen, empfehlenswert sind gleichwohl Gruppengrößen von bis zu 100 Teilnehmern.

Zur Zeit werden die folgenden Endgeräte unterstützt:

  • Windows PC ohne Datenbrille
  • Windows PC mit VR Datenbrille HP Reverb G2 (oder vergleichbare Geräte)
  • Windows PC mit VR Datenbrille Oculus (in Vorbereitung)
  • Windows PC mit VR Datenbrille Vive Pro
  • Windows PC mit VR Datenbrille Valve Index

Das System befindet sich derzeit in der Entwicklung. (Zuletzt aktualisiert am 21.07.2021)

Ausgangssituation

Virtual Reality Anwendungen im Unternehmensumfeld sind in der Regel für den Einzelbenutzer-Betrieb ausgelegt, d.h. der Träger einer Virtual Reality Datenbrille operiert alleine in der jeweiligen künstlich erzeugten Umgebung.

Der Betrieb von mehreren Datenbrillen gleichzeitig, um z.B. eine Mitarbeiterschulung mittels VR (wie in dem nebenstehenden Video beschrieben) für mehrere Benutzer durchzuführen, ist somit nicht möglich. Darüber hinaus sind die Virtual Reality Datenbrillen der verschiedenen Hersteller nicht kompatibel.

Die Lösung im Überblick

Genau hier setzt unsere Multi-User VR Umgebung an: Über den zentralen Server werden die einzelnen Teilnehmer miteinander verbunden. Außerdem sorgt das System dafür, dass die Datenbrillen unterschiedlicher Hersteller miteinander kommunizieren können.

Wenn die Anwendung installiert und die Anmeldung am System erfolgt ist, wird automatisch die für die geplante Sitzung vorbereitete virtuelle Szenerie geladen: Der Anwender setzt die Datenbrille auf und kann unmittelbar in die Szene "eintauchen" und mit den anderen Teilnehmern in Kontakt treten.

Und: Ist keine VR Brille vorhanden, kann der Anwender direkt über die Multi-User VR Anwendung an der Sitzung teilnehmen: In diesem Fall kann man die Szenerie mit allen Teilnehmern und Interaktionen über den PC Bildschirm verfolgen. Das Umschauen und die eigene Bewegung werden dabei über eine entsprechende Tastensteuerung durchgeführt.

Die Verwaltung der verschiedenen Anwendungsszenarien wird über eine Web-Oberfläche vorgenommen. Hier können alle erforderlichen Daten und Konfigurationseinstellungen - wie beispielsweise Zugriffssteuerung und Benutzerdaten, Zeitpunkt und Dauer einer Sitzung, erforderliche Szenen etc. - zentral erfasst und angepasst werden.

Beispiele & Anwendungsfälle

Schulung & Weiterbildung

Beliebig viele Teilnehmer treffen sich mit einem Trainer, Lehrer, Instruktor in der virtuellen Umgebung, z.B. einer Produktionsanlage. Die Teilnehmer sind idealerweise mit einer Datenbrille ausgerüstet oder verfolgen die Anweisungen direkt am PC. Der Trainer führt die Gruppe durch die Szene, erläutert die Abläufe oder erklärt bestimmte Tätigkeiten. Zum Ende der Session entläßt der Trainer die Teilnehmer aus dem "geführten" Modus, so dass sich alle frei bewegen können, um das Gelernte eigenständig auszuprobieren.

Rundgang & Besichtigung

Da sich beliebig viele Teilnehmer an unterschiedlichen Orten weltweit in eine VR Sitzung einwählen können, bieten sich völlig neue Möglichkeiten der gemeinsamen Begehung oder Besichtigung eines interessanten Ortes, eines Museums etc. Hintergrundinformationen werden live z.B. von einem Reiseführer vorgetragen, während er die Gruppe durch die Umgebung führt.

Kreativität & Kollaboration

In einem Online-Projektraum schließlich können Personen kreativ zusammenarbeiten, um beispielsweise für eine räumliche, dreidimensionale Aufgabe mit Hilfe geometrischer Objekte eine Lösung zu finden, ein Brainstorming durchzuführen oder eine geplante Anlagenerweiterung gemeinsam virtuell zu begehen - den Möglichkeiten sind keine Grenzen gesetzt.